Income Report for October 2014

Goran Gligorin
Niche Cove
Published in
3 min readDec 16, 2014

--

October was a very interesting month for me. As I mentioned in my 2014 goals update post, it was the last month at my day job. Because of that it was a very busy month for me. Because the human resources on the project I was a part of, were spread really thin, there were a lot of specifics only I knew how they work. I had to pass on that knowledge to at least one other person. I also had to finish a few big functionalities for the 2015 release. Along with all the work things I had going on, I also had to deal with me moving back home. That meant dealing with the landlord, canceling the cable subscription and of course packing up everything that piled up over the last 3 years. Of course I also wanted to spend some time with my friends as well, as I won’t be seeing them as much.

All that going on resulted in my not doing anything for my business. Not even writing the income report for September. Because of that the income table is the smallest one yet:

Income Table: October 2014

There’s really not that much to talk about here. It’s only 2 rows this month. Hosting and the earnings on Amazon. I canceled the Rank Source link building service I used to NW2 as it wasn’t really producing results.

Before I end this short income report, I want to show you how the rankings behave last month.

First let’s look at NW1:

NW1 Rankings (September & October 2014)

As you can see NW1’s primary keyword never recovered from the drop at the end of September. I’m still not sure if it was me canceling the Source AutoPilot subscription or the Panda 4.1 update, but I still think I made the correct decision. If I ever revive this site again, I’ll have to redo all of the keyword and competition research and decided if it’s viable or not.

The same goes for NW2. Any further investment of money would require a through keyword and competition research.

NW2 Rankings (September & October 2014)

Looking at the rankings from October I noticed a very big drop on the 18th. I didn’t notice that at the time, but a drop from the mid-20s to 100+ is quite significant. I checked with Google Webmaster Tools and no manual penalty was issued, so then I check Moz’s Google Algorithm Updates list and found that apparently Penguine 3.0 rolled out on that exact date. It was later confirmed that this was a refresh and not a change to the actual algorithm, so my guess is that Google doesn’t like the links I’ve built for NW2. Combined with only a few articles, I’ve managed to write for that site, I must say I wasn’t really surprised.

Totals

Totals Table: October 2014

Totals table hasn’t changed a great deal from the previous month. The big reduction in expenses I’ve done in September and some residual earnings from Amazon have brought me closer to that zero-dollar mark.

Over to You

This wraps up October’s happenings. Not much going on business-wise, as I mostly focused on wrapping things up at work and moving home. I said my goodbyes to Ljubljana (at least for now) and moved back home on the 25th. After that I took some time off to relax and readjust to the new environment. I actually didn’t hook up the computer for almost 2 weeks.

Cheers!

--

--