The Greatness of the Marvel Studios’ Eternals | Final Trailer

Nicholas T Jackson
Nicholas’s Written Thoughts
5 min readAug 21, 2021
Image by Ralph Leonard Poon from Pixabay

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x_me3xsvDgk

Marvel Studios’ Eternals! Count me in!

Two days ago, Marvel just released the trailer for one of their newest I.P.’s, the Eternals.This trailer really got me all pumped up! I am so excited for this movie to come out! I cannot wait!

Like many of you, the Eternals are not an I.P.(Intellectual Property) I am completely familiar with. As a matter of fact, I never heard of the Eternals before Marvel Studios announced it at the 2019 San Diego Comic-Con. So if you are like me and just enjoy watching good, fun movies, but don’t know who the Eternals are or where they fit in comic book history. That is okay. You are not alone.

The truth is, you do not need to know all the previous specific details associated with an I.P. you have never heard before. Especially to enjoy someones movie. At the end of the day, it is either going to be a good movie or a bad movie. In this case the Marvel Studios’ Eternals.

The only thing you need before you watch any movie is to come with your curiosity and desire to be entertained. Now of course, curiosity and desire just don’t come out of nowhere. Something has to trigger it. We have to be compelled to want the end product. That product being the Marvel Studios’ Movie Eternals. So how does someone get another to want a product? By giving us a taste of what it can do. In this case, to be entertaining! Within the world of cinema, that is where the movie trailers come in. And guess what? They (in my humble opinion) knocked it out of the park!

However, one important thing to understand about a movie trailer is that, it is suppose to increase your likeliness to go see the movie. It is not just there to say “we are here and exist”. Although that is one. It is suppose to do more than that. They want you to get excited to see their movie. Whether it is a lot or a little, a trailer succeeds when by the end of the video you are more interested in going out and spending money on a movie you want to see. So how did this trailer make me more excited to see the movie Eternals? Reminding you that this is an I.P. I am not familiar with and contains characters that I do not know. Well, I will tell you.

The first thing that stood out to me in the trailer was its cinematography. In my eyes, the camera shots were just astonishingly beautiful. Visually it was just a breath of fresh air. I was in awe when watching this trailer from one scene to the next. Thanks to Chloe Zhao and her directing. She chose to do her best to shoot scenes on location rather than using a green screen. Places such as, the Canary Islands in Spain and parts of London. Along with a couple other places in England, United Kingdom. As a result, it brought a grounded, majestic feeling to some of the shots I saw. Which made it seem to stand out a little bit more than your standard Marvel Cinematic Universe film. I loved that!

The Second thing that the trailer did to contribute to my desire to see this Movie was the film score. Now for those of you who are not familiar with the term film score. Film Score is the music you hear that was specifically composed and orchestrated for a movie to add character, feeling, and emotional depth. And for me, that is exactly what the score did for me in this trailer. It added to the scenes I saw that made the described premise of the movie feel grand and epic! Thanks to someone named Ramin Djawadi. Who I am not too familiar with. However, shout out to him. He is the head of the music for this film and so far from what I heard in the trailer, he has done an amazing job.

Thirdly, even with wonderful music in a trailer. A trailer can still miss the mark when it comes to intrigue. You got to be able to watch a trailer and learn something about the movie that propels your interest in the story which the movie is trying to tell. Whether it is organized with great characters, an enticing premise, relatable topics, or a grand conflict. It needs to grab your attention some how. It can have a couple of those or all of those things. Gratefully, what makes this trailer so great to me is that we get all of those things. To me, it was done in such an organized and artistic way. That I (as the audience) was able to learn many important things that sought my interest without getting shown too much that may give away important details that may spoil the movie going experience.

The trailer lets us know things like….

  • Who are the Eternals
  • What is the purpose of the Eternals
  • We learn a little bit about their conflict…
  • …as well as, their journey so solve it
  • We learn why we should care
  • We get teased additional characters besides the main cast
  • We get answers to important questions regarding the continuity to the MCU
  • Plus the cool stuff!

This is the meat and potatoes of the Eternals Trailer. Like I said, not all trailers reveal these things all in one go. But this is what makes this trailer so great. It is crafted in such a way that it reveals all the things previously mentioned in an organized fashion. Adding layers of depth and emotion by the artistic choices of music, and cinematography that enhances this to an anticipated powerful spectacle of a movie.

Lets be clear though, a good trailer does not mean a good movie. However, based on what I was able to watch from this trailer. I have all the faith and hope in the world that this movie can be a wonderful cinematic experience. I am going to see this movie. There is no way I am missing it. I am thankful to have the opportunity. Thank you Kevin Feige and Chloe Zhao for giving me something to be excited for as a movie goer and a fan of the MCU.

--

--

Nicholas T Jackson
Nicholas’s Written Thoughts

I am a writer here simply to express my thoughts and outlooks on things that I have come to learn.