1. How “My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy” Affected Me (Narrative)

Nicholas Georgiou
nicholasgeorgiou
Published in
4 min readDec 14, 2018

In middle school, it was tough for me. During Elementary school on the way to Middle school I had three friends. Two were of them were good friends themselves and one was growing to be one of my best friends. Well the problem was that one of the two who were friends themselves, was going down a darker path that I didn’t want to go down myself. That friend eventually went one to do other things that involved him with other people. Then there was the other friend of that was friends with the bad decision friend (I know this is confusing I just hope you hang in there). He was becoming a great friend of mine as him and I thought we shouldn’t go down this path. Sadly, I lost that friend to another school and for some reason we have never speak since.

This leaves us with Jacob one of my best friends. While all of this was happening Jake’s and I’s realtionship was only growing stronger. We went to the same elementary school, but we weren’t ever good friends until 5th grade summer. We both played soccer so we found something that bonded us further. While in middle school we both were doing our own little thing, still becoming even greater friends.

Middle School. Jacob and I were becoming even better friends while I was juggling the lost of my two. During middle school was when all of this “losing of friends started” and when the new ones started to come in. If I remember correctly, Henry and I were not friends until 8th grade year. I remember hearing about how good Henry was at soccer, and how insane he was, and there was Nicholas and Jacob listening in. The first time I actually meet Henry was during track season. We were both pretty fast and competed in the 200 relay, but in different heats. I was in the higher heat, somehow. Now that I think of it, Henry is way, way faster than me which is crazy to think about. But besides the point one day after practice Henry went up to me. We have just ran the 200’s and recorded the times. The conversation went a little like this.

Henry: “Hey Nick”

Nicholas: “Yeah”

Henry: “Do you mind asking Mr. Runberg if I can run in the first heat of the 200 instead of you for the relay”

Nicholas: “Why”

Henry: “Since my 200 time is faster than yours, I think I should be running in the first heat”

Stupid Nicholas: “Yeah I can do that”

Of course the conversation wasn’t exactly that, but it was kind of along the lines of that. Recall back to when everyone thought Henry was an amazing soccer player. Henry was an amazing soccer player but he was also pretty poplar. So at the time in 6th grade Nicholas was peer pressured into asking Mr. Runberg to drop down to the second heat so Henry could have what he wanted.

Fast forward to 8th grade. By then Jake and I were best buds. Henry and I, not so much. But in 7th grade we had science together, were we learned how to accept one another. But 8th grade o my goodness, what an amazing year. Henry and I were both exceptional at math. We both took advanced math classes and we were both put into the same class. Geometry. Probably until this day my favorite class ever. Henry and I learned how to become great friends. We both messed around in this class so much, that either one or the other was sitting outside the room because the teacher couldn’t handle us. And it is not like we weren’t learning, both of us passed that class with flying colors with kind of paying attention while still having a fun time.

Your probably wondering how we became such good friends. I definitely didn’t suck up to him. Part of it was soccer, but not at all all of it. We both played division 1 soccer but on different teams. So what was the reason? I learned to act like myself. I acted in class everyday like I acted when I was around with Jacob. Because I believe your true self is the way you act around your friends. Henry and I started to find many similarities between the two of us. If i’m being totally honest one of these was that we both had an PS4. I can not remember a day when Henry and I did not go home and not play Black Ops 3 together. We also found similarities in memes, music taste, and so much more. Through Henry I also meet Sage and eventually Jacob and Henry became best buds, and we finally found our crew. And until today we are still together growing even stronger as a group, and creating some amazing stories to tell my kids when I am older.

But not to steer away from the reason of, being yourself. Kanye helped me realize this about myself in “All of the Lights”. You can’t just live your life being some one else, and taking orders from some one you don’t even like. If your being yourself, popularity doesn’t matter. People will naturally like you because your different from the rest. That’s why ever one is different, but it is up to you to activate your attributes and use them to your advantage. So what are you waiting for… psych i’m not going to end with a cringey call to action. But seriously just be yourself like I was in the previous sentence.

--

--