Music and Albums Introduction

Nicholas Georgiou
nicholasgeorgiou
Published in
2 min readNov 20, 2018

Music is another category to describe yourself. Your favorite song can tell some of the deepest and darkest secrets about your self. And then we have albums. The book definition of album is “a long musical recording on a record, CD, etc., that usually includes a set of songs” (Merriam Webster Dictionary). Now that we have those down, what makes a good song and album. To me it is very confusing. Artists mix this up all the time and is seen as a personal opinion. For example I could think Lil Waynes “The Carter 2” was one of the best albums ever when one of my best-friends (I probably wouldn’t be friends with them if they listened to this) thinks Luke Bryan’s “Crash My Party” is the best ever. Even more complex you can have opinions inside of various genres. Artists try to do different and unique things in there music to make them stand out. One problem we had in hiphop last year was the idea of mumble rap. Lil Pump is a great description of this. Many OG artists don’t appreciate the type of music these rappers are making because they believe they will change hiphop forever. Like I have said music is all an opinionated subject that many take differently. In my 10, well now 9, medium posts I will be exploring my favorite albums of all time, that I think will have an important meaning to my life. Also I will be breaking down the best songs that I believe show more than just music. On the english sides of things, many literary devices are used in great songs. Almost always an artist will use at least one in one of his songs. So music is much more than just another mediocre beat with a repetitive course.

--

--