My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy: Part 2

Nicholas Georgiou
nicholasgeorgiou
Published in
2 min readDec 10, 2018

Next on the track list is one of my personal favorites, “Gorgeous”. This one features Kid Cudi, who has the main hook in the song. It starts off with a very unique beat that plays throughout the song following the lyrics of Kanye and Kid Cudi. Here is a sample of the beat that was made on a guitar and piano.

The beat is very well resembled by him with his electric guitar, which is what it sounds like is used in the real song. After like 25 seconds of the instrumental part, Kid Cudi makes his entrance. His lines go like this.

Ain’t no question if I want it, I need it
I can feel it slowly drifting away from me
I’m on the edge, so why you playing? I’m saying
I will never ever let you live this down, down, down
Not for nothing I’ve foreseen it, I dream it
I can feel it slowly drifting away from me
No more chances if you blow this, you bogus
I will never ever let you live this down, down, down

Kid Cudi is always referring to “it”. He says “it” is “slowly drifting away from me” and that there is “no question if I want it, I need it”. The “it” he is referring to him is fame. As a mentioned earlier in “Dark Fantasy”, Kanye is writing this album about his fame as a story. As said in Genius, “The incident that inspired “Through the Wire Freestyle” led to Kanye’s mythic emergence” into the game. “Through the Wire Freestyle” was Kanye’s first break out song that made his fame. Than three albums later he reestablished the game with this album. This is why he feels like it was “slowly drifting away” from Kanye. Since he produced “Through the Wire” many thought he was a one shot wonder like Mo Salah (had to drop some soccer terminology in one of these medium posts). Either know he had 3 banger albums between “Through the Wire” and “My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy” in my opinion, the public believed he hasn’t produced anything as unique and as creative as “Through the Wire” until “My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy”. Kid Cudi does an excellent job expressing this idea through his hook, but Kanye’s verses tackle an entirely different topic from fame.

Next medium post I will continue to break down “Gorgeous” and more specifically tackle Kanye’s verses.

--

--