My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy: Part 3

Nicholas Georgiou
nicholasgeorgiou
Published in
3 min readDec 13, 2018

Next on the track list is “POWER” by Kanye West

This one starts off fast and strong. It kind of gives me the “on the bus to the state final game” vibe. In other words this song gets you hype. Kanye probably loved writing this song. You know why? Because he is basically writing a song on all of his success. Literally the first verse is:

I’m living in that 21st Century, doing something mean to it
Do it better than anybody you ever seen do it

Kanye is saying that he is the most influential person of his time. If I am honest, he may be one of the most influential people in the rap game, but definitely not of all time. I believe this because all of the younger rappers say Kanye brought them into the game and inspired them to be who they are today.

Lets take a look at the chorus:

No one man should have all that power
The clock’s ticking, I just count the hours
Stop tripping, I’m tripping off the power

(21st-Century schizoid man)

Like in the opening Kanye is bragging to us on how successful his life is right know at this point in his career. I find it kind of funny on how cocky Kanye is being in these particular lines. When he says “The clock’s ticking, I just count the hours” he really means he was no time for seconds as they are seen unimportant to him.

In his second verse, Kanye shares with us some important information on how he thinks.

My childlike creativity, purity and honesty
Is honestly being crowded by these grown thoughts
Reality is catching up with me
Taking my inner child, I’m fighting for custody
With these responsibilities that they entrusted me

“My childlike creativity”. This is one of my favorite lines ever. When I think of childlike creativity, I don’t know why but, the movie “Elf” pops into my mind. If you haven’t seen “Elf” I have know idea where you live because it is one of the most overplayed Christmas movies ever. Anyways “Elf” pops into my head because it is all about imagination and being a kid again. There are two characters in the movie that remind me of this. Buddy and Walter Hobbs.

Buddy (on the left) and Walter Hobbs (on the right)

First we have are not so love-able Walter Hobbs. We see Walter progress from a boring, 9 to 5 type job man, to a man who has a little life inside to him at the end of the movie. On the other hand we have Buddy. Buddy knows how to have a good time and everyone loves to be around him except grumpy Walter. The thing you need to take away from this is how to never be a “mature weenie” (a term my friends and I like to use when describing people who can’t handle a little fun). Buddy seems to very childish and funny like in the movie, which gives him his uniqueness from the rest of society. This is what I think Kanye also has. In his verses he talks about how his “grown thoughts” mixed with his “childlike creativity” make him who he is. This allows him to keep on creating unique music from the rest of the crowd.

--

--