Printed Clarinet Usage: Marching Band

Nicolas K
Nick K’s Engineering & Music Blog
2 min readNov 23, 2019

Tomorrow, I will bring a bunch of my Barrel 1 designs to tomorrow’s UNLV football game against San Jose State University. This will be a great test of the barrel’s capabilities to play in an ensemble, especially since they’re all the same type of barrel, all with the same 25% infill. I also decided to print them out in our school colors, scarlet and gray (technically red and gray, since that’s what was available in the MakerSpace]).

I also found some stickers that had the UNLV logo on them in both silver and red, so I slapped them onto the barrels I had printed, and it really enhanced how nice these barrels look for a college marching band setting. If the barrels tune/blend well together, I’ll be really happy.

The barrels I made for the game, with the UNLV logo stickers on them to make them look extra snazzy!

The barrels I have printed tend to blend beautifully with others’ barrels but are stifled by the fact that the intonation problems my barrels have ruin any enjoyment any ensemble might have when playing with my barrel. If everyone plays on the barrel, everyone has the same intonation problems, and with that, one must ask the age-old marching band question: If everyone’s out of tune together, is anyone out of tune at all?

I’ll report the results of how the barrels performed in their ideal setting (a college marching band) next week.

--

--