“Best” of 2011

Nicole Kemp
Nicole be Thinking
Published in
3 min readApr 28, 2011

Generally speaking, I don’t think it’s fair to impose one’s superlatives on another. My “Best of…” or “Most…” lists are usually humorous, personal, or not ranked. Music is subjective so it’s even harder to give an honest assessment about something everybody loves, especially when your opinion is negative. This becomes even more difficult when you appreciate everyone’s hustle. Honest to goodness, I do not listen to Soulja Boy, but I believe there’s a place in music for him. *shrug* Sue me.

So… Now that my little disclaimer is out of the way, let’s talk about House of Balloons. This is The Weeknd’s debut EP and it generated a huge buzz when it was released this March. I resist buzz, but I try to give everything a chance. Good stuff grabs me immediately. If I can rock to it sitting down, I love it. If not, I take it to the car. If I can ride to it, I love it. If I still need to convince myself, I’ll listen to it while I’m doing my hair. That solitude helps me hear what I’m listening to. If that doesn’t work, I probably won’t pick it up again. And that’s what happened with House of Balloons.


It is creative. Some of the production is nice. But it’s boring. Even my favorite song on the EP is boring. It’s what I’d expect to be playing in the background when I’m shopping at a hoity toity boutique. And after a couple songs, I’m done with the drug-induced sex vibe. I’m also not so in love with his voice. Hey… you win some, you lose some…

But I’ve been seeing people call this project the best of 2011. Along with some other comparisons, that scares me. Aside from my own reluctance to call something “the best,” there are better projects out right now. Which leads me to the point of my post (which isn’t to bash The Weeknd, despite what it seems)… Here are some things I think you should listen to. You don’t have to have to like them, agree with me, admit they’re better, none of that… Just listen.

For people comparing him to Drake… Ok. But if you want something closer to the honesty and vibe of So Far Gone, get sailing soul(s) from Jhene Aiko. And if the name sounds familiar, it should. She toured with B2K back in the early 2000s. (Don’t front… You were a fan…)

Frank Ocean’s Nostalgia/Ultra also got a lot of internet buzz. This is as creative as House of Balloons, but the songs are written well. Even his own drug/sex ode “novacane.” Don’t let the Odd Future connection throw you off. He’s not eating roaches or chasing midgets on a SXSW stage.

If you know me, you know I love J*DaVeY, and their Great Mistapes are extra creative and very sexy. I think Boudoir Synema came out late 09, but Evil Christian Cop was released earlier this year (I’m almost certain).

KING’s The Story and Childish Gambino’s EP are only 3 and 5 songs respectively, but I’d rather play them on repeat than House of Balloons.

Enjoy. =]

[p.s. The links aren’t necessarily links to the projects named… but if you can’t navigate those websites, what’re you doing here?]

--

--