How to pack smart and travel light

Nicole Saidy
Nicole's Blog
Published in
2 min readFeb 9, 2017

As a digital nomad couple, when Jad Joubran and I travel, we hop between different cities a lot. We’re currently on a 3 month trip visiting 10 different cities.

This means we have more transportation, more walking and more dragging bags. But I know what you’re thinking, this means we need more stuff and more clothes. Well, not necessarily.

In one of my first few trips, I met a European friend traveling for around 6 months with just a carry-on, I was shocked and honestly felt silly that I had a big bag and a carry-on for a 2 week stay. So I decided to change my lifestyle.

Traveling light is traveling happy.

Here’s why.

1. Easier mobility

You walk with your luggage much more than you think. When you have a small bag, you won’t have to worry about stairs, running to catch the bus, or straining your shoulders.

2. Saves money

When you travel with only a carry-on, it saves you up to 80$ on a round trip flight with connections. Imagine how much you can save per year, especially if you’re a frequent traveller.

3. Saves time

You don’t have to wait for your luggage anymore. You’ll be the first person to go out from that exit door. Also, you’ll spend less time packing.

4. Better lifestyle

Traveling with big heavy bags makes you a typical tourist. Just saying.

How do we do it?

Check out the step by step guide on our travel blog: How to pack light and travel smart

🌎👫 Follow our nomad adventure on our facebook, blog and instagram.

--

--