Clot!

LudumDare 42 submission

Francisco Nicolau
Nico’s GameDev Projects
2 min readFeb 18, 2020

--

Project Description

In September of 2018, I participated in a LudumDare where the theme was “running out of space”. Clot! has you play as a little blob of black goo trying to survive hordes of enemies while simultaneously matching blocks to score points.

What is Ludum Dare?

“Ludum Dare is an online event where games are made from scratch on a weekend. Check us out every April and October!”

Coming up with the idea

When I first thought of ideas for this theme a lot of possibilities surged up. My personal goal, since I was working alone, was to craft something that was simple and small in scope yet with enough replay value to make it interesting for a few minutes of fun. As anyone can attest to, arcade games are the perfect category for this sort of short-spurt, high-octane, addictive gameplay that simultaneously allows you to get as creative as possible while maintaining that sought after simplicity.

I’ve actually never been a fan of match-three style games but I don’t fail to see their potential appeal, so when I came up with the idea of making a game with that style of mechanics I took it upon myself to mix it up with a bit of good old real-time action and reaction based movement. Thus Clot! was born!

Short description of the gameplay

Update

A few days after the jam I published an updated version to the itch.io page with some bug fixes, a MacOS version, and a new feature.

Some enemies will now turn into special goo blocks that have unique behaviour when destroyed.

A showcase of special blocks added

Play it!

Visit the links below to get more info and play the game for yourself.

Visit the jam page to read about the game here.

Play Clot! On Windows or Mac here.

--

--

Francisco Nicolau
Nico’s GameDev Projects

I’m a CS Master’s student interested in using all sorts of technology as a medium to challenge myself and express creativity.