Photography NFTs you need to have, and have to see

Nikki Yeager
Nifty Art Review
Published in
6 min readApr 17, 2021

So much of the NFT world centers on digital illustration and animation. However, I’m excited to see how the world of photography merges with NFTs considering how natural the transition is. Photographs are sold as prints. They can typically be recreated by the negatives anyways, so the person owning a print isn’t really owning the thing itself and it, therefore, can be recreated or viewed by others (which is the argument people get hung up on with NFTs).

The concept of editions is almost identical in the digital space. You don’t have the actual .psd or .ai, or whatever file type the artist used to create the work. What you have what is essentially a digital print.

Perfect overlap.

So here are five of my favorite artists currently selling NFTs. This is, obviously, an abbreviated list. But it’s just a start as I’m starting to explore platforms that sell photography as well!

Kate Woodman

https://foundation.app/katewoodman

Are you kidding me, Kate Woodman? I love this art so much. And at a current bid of 11.88 ETH (almost $30,000 USD), I can’t even almost afford it. The piece below is described as:

‘Always Coca Cola’ is a digital photograph that blends a classic aesthetic with contemporary consumerism.

The mix of contemporary and classic is what gets me the most. The styling on this image is perfect, making the model look like she’s straight from the Victorian world while still having obvious markings of modern culture (tattoos on her arm, a side-part, a ring I know I’ve seen on Pinterest). The nod to consumerism is both clever and chuckle-worthy.

I’m intrigued by her piece “Locked”. This crystal clear image makes me want to climb into the photographer’s mind and ask, “is this it? Do I have the intent right?”. I feel like there’s such a strong message here that might read differently to every woman. For me, it nods to the societal requirements of a woman within a domestic partnership to perform in a sexually “appropriate” way. The locked door representing the confines of that agreement. To others, it may feel more literal. Being trapped inside a relationship. Being forced into submission. But what it means to the artist, I’d love to know, especially since it’s marked “artist’s favorite”.

Aaron Ricketts

https://foundation.app/aaronricketts

As for Aaron, I’m just going to steal is bio from his website because I believe this man’s work speaks for itself.

Aaron Ricketts is a photographer, visual artist and creative director whose work resides at the intersection of art and entertainment. By approaching his medium in innovative ways, Aaron often challenges human perception, condition and context. Aaron found his artistic voice while simultaneously serving in the United States Air Force and attending Tyler School of Art as a full-time student. Receiving his BFA in Photography in 2017, Aaron began working for himself, establishing partnerships with notable brands and companies. Working with the likes of Converse, A&E Network, Vice, Puma, and The New York Times to name a few, Aaron has been profiled by both Complex and Highsnobiety. Aaron became a member of the International Cinematographers Guild — Local 600, after his role as unit still photographer for the production of Concrete Cowboys starring Idris Elba, Stranger Things’ Caleb Mclaughlin, and Emmy winner Jharrel Jerome. Aaron’s personal aesthetics continue to evolve along side his forever expanding artistic practice.

When I first came across the photo below, I found myself staring at it for a few seconds longer than I did any others. Is the circle a magnifying glass? Is it digitally altered? Then I read the title, “Big Mouth”, and I had to chuckle. Literally, the guy has a HUGE mouth.

But also, it brings you back to the intent, which Aaron definitely has: “This piece is a surrealist examination of the power of ones own voice. With subtle details, the viewer is posed with a question, are they seeing a reflection or magnification?”

This is a bit of a cheat because many of his images include video rather than just photography, but I couldn’t help myself. Overall, his work is smart, well-thought out, and at times, funny.

Harto

https://ephimera.com/harto11

People love to take pictures of conflict, protests being a popular setting. It’s easy to snap a photo when the drama is already created for you, the photographer doesn’t have to create tension or work to find a narrative — it’s all out in the open.

That being said, I find something unique about Harto’s images. For example in “Lacrymogène”, he describes the image:

“My first drop of a series of photos exploring the contrasts of black and white. An image that sums up my first years in France, closely following the massive protests and constant violence in the streets. Before the covid arrived, the streets of France were filled with tears and fire every week, blood and trenches, a world that is collapsing little by little.

It’s a fairly typical “world is ending” description. However, the image is almost haunting. The soft lens used for the smoke gives it almost a romantic look rather than the typically crystal-clear edges found in this type of photo. The character walking away with two hands flipping the bird is appears to be walking off into a dreamy cloud. There’s clearly chaos, but the image itself is taken in a way that softens it.

Similarly, his other images catch something interesting about their subjects and/or setting. My particular favorite is the movement in Vorticity. This picture makes me want to jump into the unknown.

Rizacan Kumas

https://ephimera.com/rizacankumas

Good are on Ephimera isn’t cheap even though is a lesser-mentioned NFT platform as you can see from both Harto and this photographer. You’ll pay similar prices to what you would for their physical prints (the equivalent to $1,000-$5,000 USD). Rizacan takes photos from Vietnam, which is especially close to my heart as I’m based next door, in Thailand.

“Wall of Beauty” is an image I’ve come back to many times. I’ve seen similar sights around the dams of Southeast Asia, but this picture taken in Ninh Binh, Vietnam, is particularly striking with a industrial red stone wall occupying the bottom half of the view, and a beautiful green landscape sprawling above. It seems to be an impossible sight.

Paloma Rincon

https://foundation.app/paloma_rincon_

Do I include her in my photography roundup? Do I write another article for general artists? Is she a sculptor? I just don’t know what to do with this amazing woman. Her render-like images are as bright as a plume of tropical birds’ wings. Her instagram is an explosion of color… which is generally how I like my art.

If you watch the process of her creating these images, it’s a lot of food arrangement and set design. It’s careful planning and organization. Then a perfectly shot photograph.

She currently has a handful of NFTs for sale on Foundation, but I’d make sure to follow her for future drops as well. If I could, I would just buy a space to live on one of her sets — this is how I like the world to look! If anyone else would like to gift me one of these, it’d be greatly appreciated ;)

--

--