Re-Viz-ited: Every Volcanic Eruption Since 1880

Follow along with one data journalist as she tries to turn this Axios viz from dormant to active. Introducing Re-Viz-ited, a new series that goes under the hood of data journalism.

Rachael Dottle
Nightingale

--

NASA Earth Observatory image by Joshua Stevens, using data from NASA/METI/AIST/Japan Space Systems, and U.S./Japan ASTER Science Team.

Welcome to Earth Week on Nightingale! In honor of Earth Day on April 22, we are publishing earth-related data-visualization content all week. Data viz can enhance our appreciation of the planet, illuminate our relationship to it, and call us to action to preserve it. After all, we only have one and it means the world to us. You can keep up with all of our Earth Week articles here.

In February, I wrote a piece about how I made a very important map about cats. Oh, right. I also described my data visualization process. Yes.

In that piece, I challenged myself to be completely transparent about my process and make my work reproducible, which is difficult when dealing with messy or complicated data and hard deadlines. Before that, I didn’t really spend much time considering what steps I take on a given viz and how I could track my work or explain it to others. Thinking deeper about how I tackle making and explaining viz has led me to undertake a reproducibility quest.

--

--