So You Want to Pick a DataViz Platform: Part III- Tableau

Phil Hawkins
Nightingale
Published in
10 min readMar 18, 2020

--

Talking about Tableau by pretending to use it for the first time

Anyway the Wind Blows

Ok well, first my boss, then her boss said I need to learn Tableau, and I’m teleworking today. So here I am. Seems like all I do anymore is learn. I just spent two months studying for this AWS exam that I failed last August. I passed my retake last week, but now my boss says I have to learn a BI tool next.

I guess even Tom Brady has new experiences sometimes

Why do I need to learn this, anyway? I make plenty of charts in Python. Everything I need, just write some code.

But Danielle says I have to try Tableau. She says it’s the best of both coding and visual apps like Excel or the Adobe, and now’s a good time since everyone’s doing remote work. And why are we teleworking? COVID-19, which sounds less like a virus and more like a pop punk band.

Say it ain’t so! I’ll learn Tableau! It’ll help me grow! Wash your hands, though!

Regardless, I should probably learn Tableau in case Python stops working due to the virus. Here we go, rubber ducky, it’s me…

--

--