12 Lessons From My Journey From Tableau Amateur To Ambassador

James Smith
Nightingale
Published in
10 min readAug 15, 2019

--

My most recent Tableau Public work: I love using Sports data to see trends & patterns through visualization

I recently achieved two personal milestones, both thanks to a platform that has changed my career, given me an online presence & introduced me to an amazing community of people. That platform is Tableau Public.

My name is James Smith, I’m an Analytics Consultant at Biztory in the UK & I use my passion for Sport to drive my data learning, designs & curiosity. This blog tells the story of the journey from my first encounter with Tableau Public to becoming a Tableau Public Ambassador & reaching my 1000th follower on Public. Along the way, you’ll find tips, mistakes and takeaways weaved in to help you make the most of Public and take advantage of the possibilities it offers.

I’m going to use the help of Twitter to recount this story as it provides a ready-made timeline of my journey. Twitter is the cherry on Tableau Public’s cake. It allows for the sharing of Public content, receipt of praise and feedback, stimulation of discussion and the weight of an existing and much wider audience (321 million, according to Twitter earlier this year).

Without further ado, let us begin…

--

--

James Smith
Nightingale

Founder of SportsChord. Interested in sports analytics and visualization.