Stuck

A poem

Waqas Ahmad
NightLights
Jun 3, 2024

--

Photo by Mahdi Bafande on Unsplash

A war in my chest,
two opposing forces locked in a silent struggle.
One, a warm embrace,
a gentle whisper of forever,
a sunrise painted in hope.
The other, a clenched fist,
a bitter taste of disillusionment,
a storm cloud brewing in the twilight’s glow.

Love, a hummingbird fluttering its wings against my ribs,
a melody sung softly in the quiet moments,
a promise whispered on the wind.

Hate, a serpent coiling around my heart,
a venomous hiss in the silence,
a scar etched deep within my soul.

Stuck between the two,
a pendulum swinging wildly, unable to settle.
A prisoner in my own emotions,
bound by invisible chains of yearning and resentment.

Is this the dance of love?
Or the waltz of a broken heart?
I am adrift in this sea of feelings,
lost in the storm of my own creation.

--

--