The Comfort of Trusting the Creator

Dr. David Packer
NightTimeThoughts
Published in
3 min readSep 1, 2016

But who are you, O man, to talk back to God? Shall what is formed say to Him who formed it, “Why have you made me like this?” (Romans 9:20)

The clay can never know the shape the potter is forming it into. At mid-way points, it may appear a grotesque monstrosity, and then it is that it must trust the potter’s intention. Or it may fall in love with its form at an almost finished point, thinking that it has made such great leaps and improvements it has no need for further molding. And the kiln! Must it be subjected to such heat after it has been molded into such fine form?

All of these matters are just the care that the potter is taking to form the clay into the shape that He desires, with the toughness and strength that He has designed. There is great comfort in our hearts when we realize that we are not alone, that our circumstances come through His permissive will, that He is using them in our lives to help form us into Christ, and that He promises us His power and presence in their midst.

We Christians often wish for an easier path, for a gentler cross to die upon, and for a cooler kiln. But the Lord has His ways and we must trust Him and take as signs of His love whatever He has ordained for us. Some brother’s path to maturity may seem easier than ours, but in closer examination it seems that every heart knows its sorrows, every life knows its troubles, that every proud “I” must be bent into the humble “C” that symbolizes Paul’s words, “Not I but Christ.”

This does not justify our abuse and maltreatment by others, or the widespread injustices in this world — for these matters are never in God’s perfect plan. He loves us and desires that others treat us with respect. He will hold accountable all those who hurt others. But it does mean that even in those moments, and through those situations, He can so arrange the circumstances and, if we will listen to His Spirit, the sentiments of our hearts to form us further into the image of Christ (Rom. 8:28–29).

Who are we to question the things ordained by the Creator to display Christ formed within us? Just or unjust, we must leave them in His hands and move on to grow however we can, to help whomever we can, and to rejoice in the great love the Father has displayed upon us, to call us His children.

And who are we to question His power? Whenever we remove ourselves without His permission from dreadful circumstances, there is the danger that we have chosen to live without His power. He can give peace amid the greatest storm, and calm our hearts no matter turmoil or conflict around us.

A Gentler Cross?

Is there no gentler cross for me,

Upon which I should die,

Whose planks are planed and sanded down,

And stained to match my eyes?

Is there no gentler slope for me,

Upward which I may trod,

Whose path lies uniformly paved,

Where shade trees line the road?

Is there no lighter beam for me,

To carry toward that hill?

Must duty obligate me down?

Must mission bind my will?

Is there no softer spear for me,

To thrust into my side?

I would that just a scratch sufficed

That cut not hair nor hide.

Are there no smaller nails for me,

To pierce my hands and feet?

Or kinder crown or calmer crowd

Where parting would be sweet?

Help me escape self pity’s own

Exasperated cry.

Hold me fast in Your love’s grip

That I may learn to die.

And in my self-help’s emptied cry

That feels its strength all gone,

I learn to lean upon You, Lord,

And in Your grace be strong.

The task for which You call us forth

Requires the strength You give.

You lead us out beyond ourselves

So we may learn to live.

And in our own frustrating days

During our own hard hour,

Dying to self we learn to live

In resurrection power.

--

--

Dr. David Packer
NightTimeThoughts

Dr. David Packer is pastor of an English-speaking church in Stuttgart, Germany, (www.ibcstuttgart.de) and has been in overseas ministry for 31 years.