Let me Just Cry in Peace Tonight

Nipunika Jain
Nimbus Niche
Published in
1 min readFeb 7, 2024

Let me just cry in peace tonight;
Tomorrow, I’ll wear strength anew.

By day, I am the anchor for some,
The harbinger of hope for others.
Navigating choice’s rough sea,
Walking alone, yet together,
In a silently sacrificial journey.

Let me just cry in peace tonight;
Tomorrow, demands my resilience.

As dawn breaks, I brace for renewal,
To selectively wage my battles,
Fighting with all my might,
Protecting my labor from faltering,
Beneath the weight of each choice.

Let me just cry in peace tonight;
Tomorrow, I confront my many masks.

Life, in its myriad phases,
Seeks a version I scarcely recognise.
Surprisingly, I embrace those roles,
Treading carefully,
Ensuring no tolls.

Let me just cry in peace tonight;
Tomorrow, uncertainty lingers, yet I endure.

My struggle’s solitude whispers doubts —
“What if I falter?”
I must light my way,
Hold my world in place,
Disarm in silence.

It’s in this cloak of anonymity,
I confront my deepest fears,
Gathering courage before the storm.
Learning to feign bravery,
Preparing for the day’s next form.

So, let me just cry in peace tonight,
For tomorrow, once again, I must be strong.

--

--