Solitude’s Embrace

Nipunika Jain
Nimbus Niche
Published in
Oct 20, 2023

Loneliness, not of my own choosing,
Feels like a waterfall, constantly bruising.
While others chase passions, vibrant and bright,
I grapple with solitude, day and night.

I battle, I resist, with all my might,
Hoping to escape its relentless bite.
Yet just when I think it’s finally gone,
In a fleeting moment, it’s back, drawn on.

In my world, I stand alone, apart,
Trapped in a maze, unsure where to start.
The world outside seems so estranged,
Where I feel outcast, oddly ranged.

I pity them, for they don’t see,
Their own quirks are as clear as can be.
Day in, and day out, I dream and yearn,
For a companion, for a turn.

In the realm of lost and found, I reside,
Yet no one’s lost, no one to confide.
Loneliness wasn’t my wish or thought,
Yet it’s the only gift life has brought.

--

--