How To Train Your Brain to Believe You Can Cope with Change

Believing in yourself isn’t magic, it’s practice.

Diana Carson-Walker
The Ninja Writers Pub

--

Thriving through change requires resilience, but how to build that resilience isn’t always obvious. Many of us start by trying to control change itself when what we need is belief.

When I was nine, I tried to keep my world within the narrow confines I knew. One morning, I paused mid-crunch in my cereal to ask my momma:

“Promise we will never move?”

“We will never move, sweetie, and don’t talk with your mouth full.”

I swallowed. “And we don’t have tornadoes?” I had probably watched the Wizard of Oz one too many times.

“Not here, believe me, I grew up in Nebraska, and spent too much time in the storm cellar.”

Months after the cereal morning, an F3 ripped through our hometown of Vancouver, WA, killing six people, and injuring three hundred others. My mom was among the injured.

The very next year, we moved.

The crazy toppling of my narrow world forced me to navigate change. I sucked at it.

Mom recovered, and my family’s move from the suburbs to the country was both wonderful and…

--

--