Leonard Crane
Ninth Day Of Creation
5 min readFeb 3, 2021

--

WHAT READERS HAD TO SAY

Collected on this page are some comments from a few of the earliest readers of Ninth Day of Creation, the opening page of which can be found here.

Most of these comments about the book were offered over twenty years ago.

Some of these readers I corralled from a reading group I found on Amazon.com and others are from Amazon.com reviewers.

I provide these reactions from readers in the hope that they will spur you into setting aside a few minutes to investigate the book. Remember, the first third of the novel is entirely free to read (see the link to Part I in the navigation bar) and the remaining two thirds (Part II) is accessible to Medium.com subscribers.

Leonard Crane

READER COMMENTS

Timothy Masters, an Amazon.com reviewer

Wow. Once every five or ten years I encounter a book that is so far beyond ‘enjoyable’ that it leaves me breathless. This is such a rare find. I am a scientist by profession, so this book’s detailed scientific basis is a good hook. But without shame I admit that what I look for first in a book is excitement, and this one delivers a nuclear blast of heart-pounding, hair-raising, dry mouth tension… I quickly learned that I have no chance of falling asleep if I read this before bed. So I had to find alternate reading times, which was a problem. There never seemed to be a good ‘stopping place’ to put it down. Every page demands that you turn to the next to see what happens. Aspiring thriller writers would do well to study this author’s technique. He’s amazing.

Cody Carlson, a Top 500 Amazon.com reviewer:

NINTH DAY OF CREATION is a smart, exciting dive into the deadly world of biological warfare and international intrigue… From the disappearance of two bodies buried in the Alaskan wilderness, to car chases in the middle of San Diego, to the most exciting modern naval battle this side of Tom Clancy’s RED STORM RISING, this is a great adventure yarn — and all this leads to an explosive climax that will leave you wanting more. Fans of the technothriller will love NINTH DAY OF CREATION!

Andrew Czernicki, an Amazon.com reviewer:

NINTH DAY OF CREATION is one of those books that you wish would never end. When you read the last page, you want to just start reading it again. Between the fast-paced action and the factual information presented to the reader, this book is utterly satisfying… From the first page to the last, you are presented with incredibly accurate information… Amazingly well-written, I found myself stunned by the ideas presented later in the book. The ending was marvelous, and was exactly as it should have been. Much more than any techno-thriller has ever been, this book is definitely a must-buy for any reader.

Bill Moore, a Top 500 Amazon.com reviewer:

NINTH DAY OF CREATION is an excellent science thriller… [which] is not nearly as well known as it should be, this is truly an excellent book. Indeed, this is the best book of it’s type that I have read in a long time not written by a certain M. Crichton. This book deals with complex science issues (biological weapons, search for the cure for AIDS, protein folding, etc.) that will appeal to readers who like a science slant to their novels.

D.S. Russell, a Top 500 Amazon.com reviewer:

Crane has a great knack for grabbing the reader’s interest and building tension… indeed, the sub hunts and sea skirmishes are some of the best writing I’ve seen in many years. I was absolutely glued to those pages! Make no mistake, this is a fine piece of work, and one I’m sure most will thoroughly enjoy. Leonard Crane. Remember the name. I think we will be hearing much more from this talented writer.

F. Sweet, a Top 500 Amazon.com reviewer:

As a practicing biomedical scientist, I was attracted to this novel which falls into my professional ballpark… There were very few flaws in the science part of this science fiction. Indeed, the potential horrors of biotechnology gone bad were nicely developed and credible… Crane made a heroic effort by writing an elaborate first novel well over 600 pages, and competing with the likes of Tom Clancy. This fledgling novelist has something to say, and he can keep up the reader’s interest.

shel99, an Amazon.com Book Discussion Group member:

First of all, Leonard Crane, I’m holding you personally responsible for the fact that I got virtually no work done during the past few days; I COULD NOT PUT THE BOOK DOWN! Never thought I’d finish such a big book in 3 days…

kimmie36, an Amazon.com Book Discussion Group member:

I enjoyed Leonard’s book immensely. I too, had difficulty putting it down and did so only when forced to less important things like eat and go to work… Leonard, congratulations on your perfect balance of fact and fiction, science, and military. There was enough information to keep the reader interested in the story, educated in the science or technology important to the story, and never so much that it felt “text-book” or left the reader behind. I have NEVER seen an author do a better job of this, I’m sure next to impossible, balancing act. I am thoroughly impressed. Next, the characters. Did you love these people? I did. I think Camilla was my favorite, no matter how much of a pain she was at times. But all of them, Richard, Cassie, Irene, Rawley, Amy, Greenburg, etc. each had their own quirks and really leapt off the page… The best part: well the story of course. Wow did it move fast. I was exhausted after an evening of reading. But I was thoroughly entertained with not only a rollicking adventure, but a well though out military “chess-game”, and some fascinating science (hopefully) fiction. I think that once Leonard gets some well deserved recognition, he is going to give Tom Clancy, John Grisham, and Robin Cook a run for their money.

~ // ~

To begin reading Ninth Day of Creation click here.

--

--

Leonard Crane
Ninth Day Of Creation

Heavily science-oriented. In the past I have spent time dabbling as a: physicist, novelist, software developer, copywriter, and health-related product creator.