How to disable/enable Hyper-V in Windows 10 for using Docker and VirtualBox

Emrah Önder
Nioya
Published in
2 min readOct 9, 2020

--

Hyper-v Logo

As a developer, from time to time I need to use Docker (btw I ❤️Docker) and VirtualBox. Sure, running two virtualizers at the same time is not a good idea but at least, I expect to be able to switch between each other. I mean that when closing one, I should run another easily. I should not restart my computer!

But unfortunately, I have to use Windows and Docker uses Windows’ Hyper-V tech on the Windows environment.

Hyper-V lets you run multiple operating systems as virtual machines on Windows.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/virtualization/hyper-v-on-windows/about/

and

Hyper-V and Containers Windows features must be enabled. https://docs.docker.com/machine/drivers/hyper-v/

Maybe you will suggest using VMWare Player but some instant images require VirtualBox. For example, if you want to use Vagrant for creating a development environment of WordPress VIP, the instruction suggests using VirtualBox.

--

--

Emrah Önder
Nioya

A Passionate Computer Engineer From Arnhem, the Netherlands