How I Rate Books on Goodreads

Lessons from Reading

Niru
Niru’s Notes
Published in
3 min readDec 20, 2020

--

Do you have a way to rate books? Are you an avid reader who likes to judge book impartially? Do you follow an internal check list to star books you read?

I do.

In this short post, I share my steps for rating fiction and non-fiction.

This is the process I follow on Goodreads and Amazon as well.

5 Stars:

If I loved the concept and was completely engrossed by the narrative- I will star a non fiction book 5 stars.

Usually, they have multiple points that blew my mind or I jotted down to implement. Sometimes, and these are the best, that I add to a special list to revisit every few years.

If it a fiction, then the plot usually has me poring over it trying to finish before life interrupts. (Aka a voice that shouts Mommy!) I am usually sorry that the story ended and I have to part from the drama that unfolded, and occasionally, the characters are so strong, they stay in my cerebrum for a day or two. (And then of course, cranial blazes aka the kids again take over!)

In either case, these are the books I can’t stop raving about and recommending to all and sundry. And hence, 5 stars.

4 Stars:

--

--

Niru
Niru’s Notes

Reader. Author. Analyst. Mom. Mentor. Posts on making time for reading, discovering and exploring ideas, inculcating gratitude, and learning from experiences.