Cryptography is hard

Pratyush Nalam
NirvanaPass Blog
Published in
1 min readJan 10, 2016

--

Math, math, so much math

First off, I apologize for the lack of updates over the past few months. Grad school life has been pretty hectic and didn’t leave with me with much time to do anything substantial. I started again in the winter break now and am trying to get to terms with all this crypto.

Now, essentially, this app is based on Master Password. I wanted to implement the idea using some better crypto and also add other features. I started with trying to replace scrypt with Argon2. Argon2 has an official library in C and bindings in some other languages. Initially, I thought of implementing it myself in Java. I am using Java to first make a basic CLI proof of concept. The math turned out to be way out of my league and now I appreciate how intensive cryptography is. This has been a great learning experience and now I am looking into how I can link C libraries to Java.

For me, the biggest goal of this project is to learn new things and that is a sure thing to happen. I’ll update again with more news.

See you soon,

Pratyush.

--

--