#branding

Dabbling in Design

Pratyush Nalam
NirvanaPass Blog
Published in
2 min readMay 28, 2016

--

When a back-end guy tries to come to the front

I have always been a back-end guy. While I appreciate design and its ak intricacies, I could never do it on my own. Back in undergrad, my teammate always used to be the front-end guy, with me handling back-end. Back-end was my comfort zone. It was where I felt home. Even when I made websites, the vast world of online templates was my fallback. I could tweak them to my heart’s content. But ask me to design them from scratch and you wouldn’t see me.

One goal of starting this project was to dabble in design. Get a feel for the front-end. Make the leap. How much ever time it takes. The goal is to learn and experience. That is one reason I am doing this alone. I want to get the holistic experience of developing something — both the front-end and back-end.

I have been prototyping at proto.io and even making wireframes can be time consuming! While making the said wireframes, I realized that the old logo was a piece of trash and set out to make something on my own. I made use of Google’s Material Icons Library. A bit of playing around in Adobe Illustrator resulted in this which is now the new logo for NirvanaPass.

Don’t my “sophisticated” design skills shine through this logo?

To complete the branding, I did some fiddling around in Adobe Photoshop and made the rudimentary cover photo at the top of this post. #branding

Time to get back to wireframing now!

See you soon,

Pratyush.

--

--