A complicated endeavor

Small steps towards the goal

Pratyush Nalam
NirvanaPass Blog
Published in
2 min readApr 25, 2016

--

Keeping the NirvanaPass dream alive

Yet again, I will start off with another apology for the lack of updates. Finding an internship along with the pressures of grad school has overwhelmed me to some extent. However, I do have some small but important updates to share.

To recap, I was playing around in Java and trying to find a way to make Argon2 work as I started work on the command line tool. The good news I do not need to jump through any complicated hoops for this. There is official Java support and it works.

However, I have redrawn my plan. I have put the command line app on hold for now as I read up more on cryptography (remember, that shit is hard). I have started work on the Android app now. No coding has actually begun as I am now making the wireframes. This is also a good way to learn the front-end chops (as a back-end guy, respect for the front-end guys!). I will update again as I am done with the wireframes and take feedback (if any of you even reads this). It is just for Android as of now. Windows and iOS will follow after that!

Next, I will decide on what features to include for the initial versions. When I come to the actual number-crunching part, I will start work parallely on the command line tool. I am still deliberating on what language to use for the command line tool. It is still a toss-up between C++, Java and Python. There is still some time for that! It is wireframing (hat tip to proto.io) time now!

See you soon,

Pratyush.

--

--