How not to write code

Writing code the right way

Pratyush Nalam
NirvanaPass Blog
Published in
1 min readAug 21, 2016

--

And avoiding a whole bunch of deprecated calls

I am back to give another update on NirvanaPass. In my last update, I talked about how scrypt was acting unreasonably slow. Unfortunately, that issue still remains.

There has been progress in other areas. I am building out more parts of the UI. And this is where a temporary roadblock has been faced. If you see the prototype, the screen after logging in has tabs at the bottom. Implementing this has been quite a task. What you see currently in the repo is a deprecated (and currently broken) way of doing it. Being an Android dev newbie, I implemented whatever I found first. However, after some more research (which was due to my broken code), I found out that it is deprecated. Essentially, to right this wrong, I have to rewrite the whole screen now. This should be fun.

On the first screen, I have used an asynchronous task to calculate the hash so that it happens in the background. A loading spinner is shown in the meanwhile. It is still extremely slow though and that remains to be figured out. As always, any help would be appreciated.

See you soon,

Pratyush.

--

--