Trapped

Rucha Kumthekar
From the Inside
Published in
2 min readJun 14, 2017

A world which I wanted to explore and sniff all the lovely odours of nature.

Smell a car tyre and pee on it or chase after beautiful birds.

Nope… I was dragged and taken away from all the privileges of my short life.

I was taken like I meant nothing, like I had no feelings.

I had to be shoved inside a tight space in which I could barely lift my leg to itch the nasty bug that lived with me.

I had to pee in the same place I slept, and I had to drink the same water that they kept in this cage which finished in less than 2 days.

I couldn’t run, walk or eat, all day I had to lay in a small area.

I couldn’t talk to anyone, because there was no one. I could sometimes hear cries of children running around. But

all I wanted to do was play under the blue skies.

I hoped that there would be a better place, but nobody looked at me and everybody ignored me. Why would anyone look at a scruffy thing?

Then everything turned around… and a little girl found me trapped. She took me and held me tight until I couldn’t breathe.

Took me to a better place, and brushed my teeth.

Later at night, she kept me in warm blankets. Stroked and pet me, for the first time in a long time, I felt home. I wasn’t alone!

--

--