‘I have to debate with myself whether the trip is really worth it’

Cheikh N'Diaye
NJ Spark
Published in
3 min readApr 12, 2017

Zachery Lecky is a junior at Rutgers who commutes to New Brunwick on a regular basis, from his home in Jersey City.

This profile is part of the series, “The New Jersey 37,” which focuses on residents making up the 37 percent of households in state that cannot afford basic needs such as health care, housing, food, child care, and transportation.

Cheikh N’Diaye: How much do you spend on a daily basis on public transportation during the school year at Rutgers and during the summer?

Zachery Lecky: I live in Jersey City, so I feel as if I was constantly taking public transportation. During the summer, I worked in Newark so I would always take the bus and train to work every day. Ever since I’ve been to New Brunswick the [Rutgers campus shuttle] LX has become a staple in my life. The fact I don’t have a car or license has added to the need for public transportation. I actually take my road test next Friday, so pray for me.

CND: Does your reliance on public transportation affect where you apply to for a job?

ZL: Definitely. There are some job openings in far places that I just couldn’t reach, in my opinion. The cost of transportation overshadows the hours I would be earning, so working there wouldn’t be wise. I try to keep my options very local, preferably a train or bus ride away. I probably will not apply to a job that requires me taking multiply forms of public transportation. I need something that is convenient for myself so I can support myself along with my family.

CND: How much time do you spend on public transportation on a weekly basis?

ZL: I have a lot of classes on College Avenue and I work on Cook/Douglass, so I spend a fair amount of time on public transportation throughout the week. I would say a few hours a week. The ride shouldn’t be that long, but you know the struggle of getting on the bus, the traffic. College Avenue to Livingston isn’t that bad, but leaving Scott Hall at night with all the traffic — that 10 minute ride turns into a 40 minute struggle at times.

CND: Are you currently satisfied with the public transportation system set in Newark and New Brunswick? If not explain what you think could be improved.

ZL: I’m actually satisfied with the system, the framework for success is there for sure. The delays, the struggle for a seat, and the pricing could all be better, but the system has its benefits. In Newark, I like the light rail destinations. I feel those are reasonable popular locations. In New Brunswick, besides the Rutgers buses I’ve only taken the train and that has been very easy despite the $9.75 breaking my wallet.

CND: Does paying for public transportation affect you using your funds toward other necessities such as food, housing, school, etc?

ZL: Only when I’m really struggling; like sometimes I will debate is it worth paying $19 for a round trip from Newark to New Brunswick. I have to debate with myself whether the trip is really worth it. I have to take the train to Newark then the PATH train to Jersey City, then the bus to get home. I question whether it’s really worth it. There are other things that I may need but paying for public transportation is just taking money out of my pocket. Making that commute is such a draining process physically, mentally, and most importantly financially. It is basically $20 for a round trip to get back from New Brunswick to Newark which does not include the cost of the PATH train to get to Jersey City.

CND: As a college student, is it harder to afford public transportation? Do you need those funds for other things?

ZL: I would love to spend my money on things other than public transportation. Like I stated, having to spend over $20 to get to Jersey City is a stretch. As a college student, I need that money for myself. It shouldn’t be that much but we will pay for it if it’s really important. I’d much rather buy something that I actually need, such as food, textbooks, headphones, or anything that I see fit.

--

--