‘There were a lot of women that didn’t get the mental help they needed’

TAYLOR DAVIS
NJ Spark
Published in
3 min readApr 30, 2018
McKinnie with her son.

Angela M. McKinnie is the one-woman show behind Angie’s Pooches, a comprehensive pet service and care company. But McKinnie was not always pursuing her passion. In her youth, she bounced in and out of jail and prison. Years later, she reflects on her experience, access to health services and resources while incarcerated, and issues regarding mental illness in the United States.

Taylor Davis: Where are you from originally?

Angela M. McKinnie: Detroit.

TD: You defined your childhood as “interesting” due to the drug use of both of your parents. Do you have any memories good or bad that you would be willing to share?

AMM: My childhood wasn’t all bad. For the most part when I grew up my mom was a homemaker. I didn’t even know how to make my bed until my parents separated.

I grew up well. But then when drugs took over, things just spiraled out of control. My parents started doing crazy stuff. They started leaving us at the house. So I grew up taking care of my brother and sister. So that’s all I knew growing up was to take care of them.

TD: Do you remember how old you were when that started?

AMM: Nine.

TD: How would you describe your adolescence?

AMM: I was a mother before I even wanted to be one. As the older sibling I had to take care my younger brother and sister.

TD: From my understanding, you spent some time in jail and prison. What was the reason, how old were you, and how much time did you spend there?

AMM: I was in-and-out of jail from the time I turned 21. Basically, I had financial fraud charges. The longest time I went to prison, I was gone for 22 months.

TD: What type of access did you have to physical and mental health resources while incarcerated?

AMM: I didn’t have a problem getting physical health[care], but from what I saw while incarcerated, there were a lot of women that didn’t get the mental help they needed.

TD: Did you witness any health related injustices while incarcerated?

AMM: I didn’t see anything that I would think was an injustice. But with the women that were on mental health drugs, I don’t think they were receiving everything that they needed. They just drugged them to deal with them. I’m not a doctor or anything. But I think they gave them medicine to just mask the issue. If you’re not getting the proper help, you’re always going to be dependent on your meds.

TD: I’m African-American. From what I’ve seen in my own family and in the community in general is that a lot of mental health issues aren’t really deemed health issues. I feel like a lot of these problems are covered in drug and alcohol use. Would you agree with that?

AMM: Oh, yes, wholeheartedly. And this is why we’re in the predicament in which we’re in right now in America. A lot of people have underlying medical issues or have mental health issues that are not being addressed or no one wants to take the time or we don’t have enough people. I’m not sure what it is. But it’s happening every day.

TD: How do you think jails should improve their healthcare?

AMM: I can’t really answer that question because I didn’t have an issue with healthcare. Everything I needed I got.

TD: Why should everyone be concerned about the healthcare jails and prisons offer to prisoners?

AMM: Everyone should be concerned with healthcare in jails because that could be anybody. If you have a medical emergency, you definitely would want to be taken care of or your family.

--

--