‘It is just outrageous to see how our money is manipulated’

Cheikh N'Diaye
NJ Spark
Published in
4 min readApr 28, 2017

Shadi Rajeh is a senior at Rutgers and a Lyft driver. He shares his thoughts about the rise of transportation services such as Uber and Lyft and why they are high in demand right now.

This profile is part of the series, “The New Jersey 37,” which focuses on residents making up the 37 percent of households in state that cannot afford basic needs such as healthcare, housing, food, childcare, and transportation.

Cheikh N’Diaye: How did you get started as a driver for Lyft?

Shadi Rajeh: I was looking for a job in order to get some money on the side. My dad happens to also be a Lyft driver in his spare time after work. He likes working for Lyft and he receives a $500 reward for referring another person to be a driver, so it was a win-win for the both of us. It also made sense for me because I have a car on campus and have the opportunity to determine my own hours. I needed the money for my expenses in school so I said why not.

CND: Do you need this job to help pay for school?

SR: Yes, I do. This job is convenient for me because I can make money while not working a set schedule. With a regular job you work a set schedule and earn a constant pay rate. For me, I needed a job that can give me money while not interfering with other significant aspects in my life. I can earn money while not stressing myself out completely. Also, I do not mind driving and you can have a good time interacting with some of the people that you drive around. You meet some really interesting people. It’s the best of both worlds, and I recommend that other college students who are in need of cash consider working for an Uber or Lyft.

CND: How is working for a service like Lyft more convenient than a regular job?

SR: I can determine my own hours. It gives me more flexibility to create time for driving while putting time aside for my schoolwork and social life. The freer you are, the more money you make. In addition, Lyft gives us drivers perks if we decide to drive enough, such as $75 bonus after 65 rides or free roadside assistance from Allstate. I only do at least 20 rides a week though due to school.

CND: Rutgers is cheaper for New Jersey residents. As a resident in Massachusetts, do you think it is fair that the tuition is not the same for all students?

SR: It makes sense because I’m not paying taxes. I think tuition is way too high though. They spike our tuition every year just to make a profit. They just want to increase their own investments for themselves. It is just outrageous to see how our money is manipulated.

CND: As an out of state student, is it harder to afford other necessities in school.

SR: Yes, it is. Granted I do receive financial aid but more money is still coming out my pocket than a New Jersey resident. It is at least a $10,000 difference. I needed to get this job because I am put at a disadvantage from not living here in New Jersey.

CND: Why do you think services like Uber and Lyft are favored more than public transportation and the taxicab industry?

SR: Having an accountable driver is more reliable than any form of public transportation. Uber and Lyft drivers usually come within five to 10 minutes once you send your request for a driver. You can track them on their phone which lets you know if they are on the right path or not. Also, worst case scenario, if anything bad were to happen, you have the ability to report what went wrong to the company, ensuring more safety for the user. With public transportation, you never know what can happen. A train or bus can be running late. You see now what has been going on with the derailments with NJ transit. Many people’s daily commutes are ruined just from simple casualties such as that. With an Uber or Lyft, you know what is going on.

CND: In particular, the taxi industry has fallen since Uber and Lyft came around. Do you think that will change?

SR: I feel that if a local taxi system had an app-like system, they would be able to compete with Uber and Lyft. Everything nowadays is through your mobile device. People are not going to search up and call a taxi cab’s number and wait for them to drive them around. It is so much easier do just call an Uber or Lyft. In addition, with the mobile tracking device, you know where the Lyft driver is and how far they are from your location. Unless a taxi is right in front of you, you can never know how far they are until they actually arrive.

--

--