Who Really Benefits from the Educational System?

Jasmine Stackhouse
NJ Spark
Published in
4 min readApr 29, 2020
photo: CCT News

I used to imagine as a child, that when I got to be older, I would have strong thinking skills. More clear and concise than my young mind could imagine. I would be able to react quicker to things thrown at me, have a strong enough voice in my head that said “DON’T STOP, KEEP PUSHING” when things got hard. Ultimately, that I would be a pro at life. I would do what I had to, in order to ensure my mastery of living.

I had so many different images of what life would be like growing up as a little girl. I dreamed all the time of where I would be when I turned 22. How would I look? Who would be my friends? What would I be doing? What would I like and dislike? All these questions I was so excited to find the answer later in the future.

However, as I grew older, I came to understand something significant. The average child spends six hours a day in school for 180 days a school year. Totaling 1,080 hours a school year, and 14,040 out of school according to naesp.org. This indicates that although children may spend more of their time outside of school, there is still a sufficient amount of time spent in school and we still have to take into consideration extracurricular activities, and programs the school has that students may be spending additional time in.

Why is this important?

Segregation in public education is still a prominent issue in America today. This time, not just by race but social class too (even though they go hand in hand). That’s right, your income can determine the type of public education your child is receiving, along with your demographic. As time goes on, the gap classifying school systems from rich and poor grow larger. These things aren’t talked about often. But it’s prominent.

Children are being limited to resources, material, and education because of where they are in their lives. Things they have no control over. Some traveling hours away, or being sent to charter schools just to receive the education they deserve. Some do not have that option available to them at all. Urban and low income parents are concerned about the education and safety of the school in certain areas, because they can’t afford to send their child to a different location for better education. Public schools should all offer the same attention and care equally. Often the phrase “no child gets left behind,” is preached but never granted to all children.

Education matters. Speaking from experience, growing up in Michigan, I’ve witnessed the difference. Attending an all white school where I was the only black girl. Feeling lonely and left out. However, the education was astounding. A vast amount of resources were always available. Then I moved to the city. Detroit. Which has the worst school system I’ve ever experienced. The City is predominantly black. I once had a class where we only had three economics books available for the entire 24 student class. Everyday it seemed that students were not engaged in learning, because there wasn’t enough material to teach a whole class usually. School became a joke, and students lost understanding the importance of education. However, they are not to blame. Segregated school systems are.

While in school, children are facing many different views and perspectives of life that are typically up to them to decide what they agree and disagree with. All the while being influenced by other factors around them, such as teachers, friends, coaches, and most importantly how their being taught their education. Included with that is the pressure of wanting to fit in and being liked. So it’s vital parents understand the nature of the school their children are being sent to.

Most importantly, the different curriculums being taught, and how they are being taught to their kids. However, parents can’t do that, until school systems and the government recognize and work to ensure all schools are receiving equal education and material, despite the demographics of the students or the schools location.

Parents, teachers, and students have to speak up. Get assertive and demand equal education. Start petitions. People of all social classes need to come together and demand that all public school systems have the same amount of resources and material.

It is illegal for schools to be segregated as referred to Brown vs. Board of education. Children’s education should not be jeopardized because of who they are or where they come from. The louder we as people make our voices heard. The harder the push for equal education.

--

--