48 Hours In ATL

Nelson J.L Gedeon
NJLG Sr. Blog
Published in
5 min readJan 31, 2018
Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport

Coming from NYC the few things you know about Atlanta are OutKast & Trap music, late night Chicken & Waffle diners and Magic City. Might sound a little shallow but from the outside looking in these are some of the key aspects that get highlighted about the city on a national scale. In my 20’s I had the pleasure of getting to know a lot of people that either grew up in Atlanta or spent their college days in the city. Being around these folks helped to reshape my perception of the city and sparked a desire to visit and take in the city first hand. I got my opportunity to visit in early 2016 after just resigning from my full time position to start my company JetSole. The timing was perfect for me to check out some new cities and soak in culture as I prepared to bring a product to market that would service people from all around the country.

Upon landing I was immediately introduced to the southern hospitality and its warm welcoming embrace. As a black man living in a predominately white country I am always eager for the opportunity to be in an environment where the people that resemble me and share my culture are the majority. This was the first thing that stood out to me, in every direction I turned I saw us. From running businesses, tending to customers, driving luxury cars or dining at the fine restaurants; people that resembled me were in on the action and not just watching from the sideline.

MLK Statue On Morehouse Campus

My first stop after picking up my rental car was the world famous Gladys Knight’s Chicken & Waffles (sad to hear that its closed now) to get a taste of that southern cooking. The framed pictures of celebrities on the wall gave me a feeling of nostalgia, like I was in the studio with Berry Gordy as he watched Gladys and the Pips record the legendary song Midnight Train. I left the restaurant feeling stuffed and satisfied a.k.a The Itis. I’m a big foodie and if a city can provide the flavors and portions I need then I know its going to be a great visit. My next stop was to check out the campus of the Historically Black Colleges; Morehouse, Spellman & Clark or AUC as it’s referred to for short. I had heard so much about these places and made so many friends that attended these schools that people were under the assumption that I too was an alumni. The first thing that stood out to me were the amazing monuments of leaders who paved the way for African Americans to not only exist but be treated as equals in this country. I could only help but think of the impact walking past these heroic figures everyday while heading to class had on the students. It made sense why alumni of these schools are so passionate and committed to the success of their respective institution. There is a strong sense of camaraderie among alumni of these schools and by placing myself on their campus I was able to get a better understanding of this bond and respect it even more.

The driver in me loves to cruise cities while bumping music that captures the vibe of the city. As I drove from the West to the East I noticed the switch in quality of life, aesthetics and development. West Atlanta was a snapshot of the cities’ past while East Atlanta resembled what an influx of prosperity looked like with new developments popping up all over, packed restaurants and budding communities of young new home owners. Grant Park area provided a calm and peaceful backdrop, the perfect place to locate your family, raise your kids and visit Zoo Atlanta on the weekends. Midtown reminded me of Fort Greene Brooklyn with its blend of modern and historic homes, energetic social gathering areas like Atlantic Station, museums and plenty of greenery at the Piedmont Park and Atlanta Botanical Garden. My favorite area by far was Edgewood with its mix of different cuisine, millennial dominated population, new high rises and reliable transportation plus with bike lanes galore it was right up my alley coming from Brooklyn. The contrasting areas gave me a glimpse into the different complexities of the city, which provided some context for the music, fashion, and people that come from Atlanta. You can be in the trap in one moment and walk a block up and be amongst the best and brightest collegiate students. After rolling around the city it was time to check out the famed nightlife. It helps to know people in different cities, especially if you plan on partying. An old friend of mine had made a name for his self in the promoting world and had the perfect party lineup for the night. The Gold Room Nightclub was defiantly one of the best parties I had been to in a while. I must confess that Atlantians lived up to the hype and so far out of all the cities in the US I’ve visited they are by far the best partygoers.

Midtown Atlanta

The remainder of my trip was spent catching up with friends that were in town and digging in on the many cuisine options the city had to offer. My favorite places were Yard House, Six Feet Pub & Fish House, Twin Smokers BBQ, Rawesome Juicery, Sweet Auburn Curb Market and for great day drinking and watching games Twin Peaks. As I said before if a city has great food that places them high on my list of destinations to visit. As I boarded my flight on my way to my next destination I had a strong feeling that I would be back to Atlanta. It left me with a sense of balance between culture, opportunity and high quality of life. It’s a place I could see myself moving to with my family and planting roots in a new location outside of NYC.

--

--

Nelson J.L Gedeon
NJLG Sr. Blog

Betty’s Boy | CEO @JetSole 👕👟 & @ScenePort ✈️ 🌎| Creator @BackOnRoadInc 🗞🎙 | Godly Gutta Genius 🙏🏾🦁🧠