This I Believe

Angie Manen Brown
NLC Creative
Published in
2 min readApr 27, 2015

--

I’ve been thinking about Easter weekend this year where 350 people made a decision to accept Jesus at our services across the state of Arkansas. I love that everything we put our hearts and souls into sums up to people encountering Jesus.

During the last service on Sunday morning, we began to sing “This I Believe” for the last time. I love this song and the unity it brings to us as a church to declare the things of God that we believe.

But something different hit me in that last service, as the team of worshippers on stage led the people in the powerful words from the song, inspired by the Apostles Creed. We, as a team, were inviting people to sing the words of salvation.

If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you profess your faith and are saved. (Romans 10:9–10)

On Easter weekend, 24,453 people across Arkansas declared the words of this scripture.

“I believe in God our Father
I believe in Christ the Son
I believe in the Holy Spirit
Our God is three in One

I believe in the resurrection
That we will rise again
For I believe in the Name of Jesus”

I strongly feel that if they were bold enough to sing these words aloud, then God was doing a work of salvation in their hearts.

Even more powerful than unifying the church in our beliefs, we led a song that helped people who were maybe intimidated or didn’t know what to say in a prayer of salvation.

I’m thankful our teams got this opportunity. And thank you to Hillsong for putting this powering tune together.

Here’s a look at why they wrote the song.

Thank you, Jesus, for allowing us to serve your church!

--

--