Family

I Wouldn’t Be Me Without My Family

My success leads straight back to those who love me

Toni Crowe
No Air
Published in
6 min readAug 22, 2020

--

Image by OpenClipart-Vectors from Pixabay

“I wish to thank my parents for making it all possible. I wish to thank my children for making it all necessary.” –Victor Borge

Family Incident

I would be nothing without my family. Many a young woman has made the mistake of having a child when she is still a child. I had my son when I was two months shy of my 16th birthday. My family’s help is the only reason I became successful.

You see: there was never any doubt that I would return to high school. Smart, I skipped two grades in school so not only was I a sixteen-year-old with a child, I was a Senior in high school. My mom and siblings babysat my son while I went to school, they watched him while I did homework. Their efforts ensured I had the opportunity to complete my high school education. High school was and still remains the gateway to educational possibilities.

When I was seventeen, I ran away with an older man who turned out to be a pimp. During the four months that I was gone, my mother took care of my son. I had the luxury of making a horrific mistake then recovering because of my mom.

When I returned from “my adventure”, I lived in my mother’s home. I got on welfare…

--

--

Toni Crowe
No Air

Sharing the hard lessons I've learned in life. Best-selling author. Humorist. Editor. Writing whatever interests me . Owner: No Air. Editor:MuddyUm.