Black History Month

Sometimes White People Surprise Me

I was a young Black woman on the wrong path, a White police officer changed my future

Toni Crowe
No Air
Published in
5 min readFeb 10, 2021

--

Image by Clker-Free-Vector-Images from Pixabay

“Wherever there is a human in need, there is an opportunity for kindness and to make a difference.” –Kevin Heath

Because there is so much attention paid to a Karen incident or racist act; it is easy to forget that most humans are decent. That decency made a difference in my life. Many want to brush all White policeman with a racist brush, but no group is homogeneous. My future was saved by an act of kindness of an older White officer. I was attempting to sabotage myself and he stopped me.

Picked Up By the Police

My friends and I were out drinking, dancing, and misbehaving. We were in a bar when a fight started. The police were called. We were too stupid to leave when the craziness started, so we were there to be picked up. Although I hung out with bad people, I had done nothing illegal…yet.

When the police picked us up, my friends spat on the officers and called them pigs, twisting and rolling on the ground. One of my group pissed on the floor. I looked away.

I did not act up. The officer that grabbed me was an older white officer. I spoke to…

--

--

Toni Crowe
No Air

Sharing the hard lessons I've learned in life. Best-selling author. Humorist. Editor. Writing whatever interests me . Owner: No Air. Editor:MuddyUm.