News You Can Not Use

The First Ten Words of The New Oxford African American Dictionary Have Been Revealed

The words are also being added to the American Oxford English dictionary

Toni Crowe
No Air
Published in
5 min readJun 3, 2023

--

Orathai — stock.adobe.com / Author’s subscription

There is a new dictionary being put together. This dictionary will consist entirely of words created or re-invented by Black people. The first 1,000 words in the dictionary are expected to be ready for prime time by March 2025.

The first ten words were released to the New York Times. I’m Black and have an extensive vocabulary, yet some of the ten words are new to me.

I am a word lover. As a child, I would discover unfamiliar words that no one I knew recognized. As a result, I was a linguistic adventurer. I sought information on the newly discovered terms. Dictionaries were my source of understanding the sound and definition of the words. To this day, there are words in my vocabulary I have never heard used in a sentence.

My favorite among the ten words is:

· “old school (adj.): Characteristic of early hip-hop or rap music that emerged in New York City between the late 1970s to the mid-1980s, which often includes the use of couplets, funk and disco samples, and playful lyrics. Also used to describe the music and artists of…

--

--

Toni Crowe
No Air

Sharing the hard lessons I've learned in life. Best-selling author. Humorist. Editor. Writing whatever interests me . Owner: No Air. Editor:MuddyUm.