Author Accelerator Member Spotlight: Glen Knock

Celebrating a writer’s success

Jade @ Author Accelerator
No Blank Pages
2 min readApr 2, 2018

--

Photo by Pablo Heimplatz on Unsplash

We’d like to introduce Glen Knock, one of our Author Accelerator members. Glen recently finished his first draft and we invited him to sit down for a little interview to talk about his experience. So without further ado, here is Glen!

Q: Okay, Glen, can we have the basics about your project and your book coach?

Glen: I’ve been working on my thriller, Deep Decaywith book coach Sheila Athens for the last four months.

Q: How does it feel to have finished?

Glen: It feels great! I am very excited to go to the revision phase, especially with the comments that Sheila made and we discussed along the way. If you had told me a year ago that I would have written a first draft that was more than 75,000 words I would have spit out my coffee and laughter.

Q: What did you do to celebrate?

Glen: My wife is taking me out to dinner.

Q: What are your next steps?

Glen: Revision, hopefully with guidance. I want to take the weekend course with the Story Genius but can’t do it this May. I plan to let my manuscript breathe for a while. In the meantime I am taking courses with the Maine Writers and Publishers Alliance to hone my social media, promotion and character development skills. They have some incredible live courses with well known people.

Q: Why would you recommend coaching to get to a finished draft?

Writer Glen Knock

Glen: It kept me on target. Left to my own devices I would have spent too much time going back and correcting or revising and not writing new words. Getting to the finished first draft would have been an award winning example of procrastination. Which is also a word for Sloth in five syllables. Coaching especially kept bringing me back to the protagonist’s misbelief, point of view and internal dialogue.

Thanks so much for taking the time to talk with us, Glen. And again, congrats on your huge accomplishment!

Originally published at medium.com on April 2, 2018.

--

--