Book Coach Success Spotlight: Mia Manansala

Whitney Astbury
No Blank Pages
Published in
3 min readJan 12, 2021

Celebrating a book coach’s success

Photo by Sagar Patil on Unsplash

We’d like to introduce you to Mia Manansala who recently became a certified book coach. We invited her to sit down for a little interview to talk about her experience. So without further ado, here is Mia!

Q: Okay, Mia, how did you come to book coaching? Were you a writer looking for a way to dive deeper into the craft? A coach hoping to expand or enhance your services? Were you entering book coaching totally fresh?

Mia: I’ve been a Pitch Wars mentor for years and have always loved working with a writer to push them to create the best version of their story. When an unexpected career change happened, I realized that now was the time to take my passion for helping writers and turn it into a business.

Q: What was your experience in the Advanced Training and Certification course? What did you find most satisfying? What did you find most challenging?

Mia: I loved that each lesson not only helped me dive deeper into my own craft, but opened my eyes to new writing processes and gave me the language to explain why certain elements in a manuscript did or didn’t work for me.

For me, the most challenging was striking the right balance between encouraging and constructive. My praise is always genuine, but tough love is more my style.

Q: What is the most valuable piece of advice you’re taking away from the training?

Mia: That there’s an alternative to straight plotting or pantsing and it’s called the Inside Outline!

Q: Do you plan to coach writers in your own business?

Mia: Yes. I specialize in crime fiction (mystery, suspense, thriller, etc.), particularly from BIPOC perspectives, but am open to a wide range of genres and age categories.

You can find out more about me and my services at my website.

Q: What are you going to do to celebrate your certification achievement?!

Mia: I immediately updated my website to indicate I was now certified and added the badge, then ordered a bunch of food from my favorite local Chinese/Thai restaurant (since going out isn’t really an option now). Food is my favorite way to celebrate :)

Connect with Mia: website | facebook | instagram

Q: What are the next steps in your career?

Mia: To build up my client base and become known as the go-to coach for underrepresented voices in crime fiction.

Start your own journey by watching our free All About Book Coaching video series.

--

--