Book Coach Success Spotlight: Terri Thayer

Whitney Astbury
No Blank Pages
Published in
2 min readJan 20, 2021

--

Celebrating a book coach’s success

Photo by Seyedeh Hamideh Kazemi on Unsplash

We’d like to introduce you to Terri Thayer, who recently became a certified book coach. We invited her to sit down for a little interview to talk about her experience. So without further ado, here is Terri!

Q: Okay, Terri, how did you come to book coaching? Were you a writer looking for a way to dive deeper into the craft? A coach hoping to expand or enhance your services? Were you entering book coaching totally fresh?

Terri: I had decided to put my novel, Meet the Beatles, aside. I was looking for a way to stay in my beloved writing world. Watching the Book Coaching Summit in January, I was inspired by the number of women entrepreneurs. I decided it was a good path for me. I’d be able to help others write their books and make a career for myself.

Q: What was your experience in the Advanced Training and Certification course? What did you find most satisfying? What did you find most challenging?

Terri: The information in the certification course is wide-ranging. I love the emphasis on finding the deep level why in the novel. I loved learning to identify what is going wrong and being given the tools to fix those.

Q: What is the most valuable piece of advice you’re taking away from the training?

Terri: To understand who you really want to be serving. Choosing clients carefully is paramount and Jennie is very clear on how to do that.

Q: Do you plan to coach writers in your own business?

Terri: Yes. I am a certified Focusing Professional so I plan to include Focusing in my coaching practice. Focusing is a simple way to access inner wisdom. With Author Accelerator’s emphasis on getting to the why of storytelling, Focusing is a perfect fit. I want to help my clients bypass the intellect and get to their hearts. That is where good stories reside.

I don’t have a website yet but I’m at territhayer AT me DOT com

Q: What are you going to do to celebrate your certification achievement?!

Terri: Take out from my favorite restaurant after spreading the news to family and friends.

Q: What are the next steps in your career?

Terri: Establishing a website, seeking out clients. Next is the Business Mastermind.

Start your own journey by watching our free All About Book Coaching video series.

--

--