http://www.flickr.com/photos/mikecogh/8371977067/sizes/o/

Dealing With Messages I Don’t Agree With In Songs I Like

Reconciling The Message With The Medium

Blessing Mpofu
No Category For This
2 min readAug 7, 2013

--

The trigger to this post is Boyz II Men’s song, I Shoulda Lied. You can tell which era I fell out of, right? This Babyface treat has killer harmonies and music. Everything about the track is serene, till I listen to the message. I’m now conflicted.

I like the way the song is done but I don’t agree with its message. I like everything about it, except the message. I don’t believe in lying, no matter the circumstance, unless someone someone is holding a gun to my or someone else’s head. Maybe… Ethics and morality… #Sigh

Anyway I don’t believe in lying but I love the music… This brings me to: How many messages we don’t like or agree with are carried in means or media we love?

Now, how do I deal with this conflict? I feel schizophrenic

I think the reason for the conflict is that the means of communication, in this case music, is something I love and am passionate about. At the same time, the message matters to me because I feel listening to it over and over could have an impact on my value system.

At this point I think I’m starting to answer my own question… One of the things that’s getting me closer to the answer is:

How important, to me,are the values that are being challenged?

Thus the media nor message doesn’t matter as much anymore. What is important now is my values. There will be another great song with great music, harmonies and message. My values are too important to be violated.

They have significant impact in defining who I am, my relationships and life.

I guess I’ve kinda unravelled a filter I can use in dealing with such conflicts for the future.

Help me out: Do you have or have you had similar conflicts? How have you dealt with or reconciled it?

--

--

Blessing Mpofu
No Category For This

just guy changing the world. husband to @inkiebouts. blogger, writer, growing leader and communicator | editor in chief @churchmag | https://blessing.im