5 Course Quintains

Served on a silly platter

Rumi
No Crime in Rhymin’
1 min readMar 20, 2021

--

Photo by Kah Lok Leong on Unsplash

There was a drunken punter
who was a lousy hunter
He set faulty bait
with a wobbly gait
and tumbled down the gutter.

She was a member of the House Feline
The rat slayer in our family line
She went on a visit nearby
and defected without a bye
Hence “Breaker of Trust” became her tagline.

Limerick and Haiku had a diss battle
Each checked their meters to prattle
Limerick flops, with retorts
Haiku plops, two line short
Free verse chimes in, KOs them with its rattle.

I had a hard day with typos
They almost turned me into a psycho
I wrote, "List of things..."
It became, "Lust of thongs..."
Thankfully my eyes were quick to follow.

I had a chance meeting with silence
I sought for its divine guidance
It stood quiet as a clam
I called out its sham
It didn't say anything in defiance.

©Rumi

P.S- The above quintains are loosely based on the structure of Limerick and its rhyming pattern AABBA.

Thank you Laura Sheridan and Joe Váradi for your guidance.

--

--

Rumi
No Crime in Rhymin’

Fell into the "Cosmere" rabbit hole and have been staying there ever since.