A Daydream of Nightmares

A poem

Brian Relay
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

Photo by Bryan Goff on Unsplash

I prefer nightmares.
They’re better than dreams.
Before you pass judgment,
There’s more than it seems.

When dreaming of fortune,
And striking it rich,
I wake up reminded,
That life is a bitch.

But when nightmares assault me,
With murderous thoughts,
Of demons and darkness,
And sinister plots,

I wake up so grateful,
To know I’ve survived.
And give thanks to the heavens,
That I’m still alive.

If you can get with that,
Then you can get with this:

If you enjoy reading stories like these and want to support me along with thousands of other writers, consider signing up to become a Medium member. It’s $5 a month, giving you unlimited access to all stories on Medium. If you sign up using my link, I’ll earn a small commission.

--

--

Brian Relay
No Crime in Rhymin’

Aspiring novelist/director/podcaster/spiritual guru/normal person