A Pocket Full Of Shells

Can Provide The Most Explicating Bells

Speaking Fiction To Power
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

Photo by Roberto Arias on Unsplash

Have you ever walked the beach with a pocket full of shells?
Those of you who’ve done it know the sound so well.
From your pocket comes a most distinctive jingle sound,
Like bells worth listening to more than anything around.

I’m a fan of beach walks; I confess, I do indulge.
As some say, excessively, I must honestly divulge.
But nothing beats a stretch of beach for contemplative walking,
And if you ever decide to join me, please, let’s refrain talking.

There are so many sounds that compete for your attention,
Like the shells in your pocket I have already mentioned.
But also listen to the birds, and the sounds of bait fish splashing,
And possibly a shark cutting through them, slashing.

That’s the sound fishermen hope most to hear at last,
Telling them just where and when to throw their cast.
The tidbits left over from the shark draw better fish for eating,
And if caught, provide you dinner and the warmest of greetings.

--

--

Speaking Fiction To Power
No Crime in Rhymin’

I am an old man who loves to write - to entertain, to produce a chuckle, and occasionally make a point I think is worth making - and sometimes all three!