Poetry

And The Clouds Rushed Away

Anu Anniah
No Crime in Rhymin’
1 min readJul 9, 2020

--

Photo by Anu Anniah

I did something extremely useful today
Spent an hour in the balcony I say

Watched the plants and the bushes sway
Saw huge clouds floating my way

Wish I could do this every day
Would surely do it, if I had my way

The clouds were fluffy, fat and grey
They seemed to be filling up along the way

I dreamt of fat raindrops, oh yay!
And the smell I like when they fall on clay

Tilted up my face waiting for the spray
But not a drop came by to my great dismay

Just when I thought that the clouds were here to stay
The wind blew so hard, and they rushed away

Like a match that is abandoned midway
The clouds seem to say ‘show’s canceled for today

Guess I have to wait for some other day
Rain deferred, sorry for the delay!

--

--