Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust

But I Ain’t Ready, Not Near ’nough

Speaking Fiction To Power
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

Ashes to ashes, dust to dust,
Seems like the destiny for all of us.
Don’t get me wrong, I’m ’bout to bust,
Ain’t leavin’ this place without makin’ a fuss.

Got pain in my joints, got me some rust,
I‘m an old man, but I feel robust.
Got me some moves, in that you can trust.
If life is a pie, I ain’t yet broke the crust.

Not like the young, but got me some lust,
Not just for women, lots other stuff.
So go ahead, express your disgust,
I don’t give a fig, I just feel I must.

So keep your own ashes, keep your own dust,
I’m gonna keep actin’ right off the cuff.
Think ’bout your own stone, now if you must,
But if you’ll put down your chisel, I know you’ll adjust.

I am no Warrior, I am no Champion, I am no Captain. But somehow, strangely, Amanda Gorman’s Super Bowl poem inspired my poem today. I think it inspired me to, if not “charge on”, to at least think about going on as best I can, to not give up. If you missed her poem, here it is:

Poems is Strange Creatures, ain’t they?

--

--

Speaking Fiction To Power
No Crime in Rhymin’

I am an old man who loves to write - to entertain, to produce a chuckle, and occasionally make a point I think is worth making - and sometimes all three!