Bare Naked in a Sleepy Village

a sonnet for Daniele

Joe Váradi 🇭🇺
No Crime in Rhymin’
1 min readOct 31, 2020

--

source

t’was 6 o’clock, an early Alpine morn
as I awoke with urgent need to pee
bare naked as the day that I was born
with curtains drawn, my eyes could hardly see

foggy-eyed, I let my instincts lead
my sluggish body down the corridor
swept swiftly by my urologic need
reached for the knob, dashed quickly through the door

and as I heard the latch behind me close
I realized what an error I had made
for I was standing void of any clothes
out in the Platz, without an ounce of shade

a kindly stranger did not laugh, nor gloat — 
she flashed a smile and handed me a coat

Grüß Gott!

here’s the inspiration, a very amusing and revealing confessional by Daniele Ihns … Dany you didn’t mention where this takes place, so I imagined it in a proper, old-fashioned Austrian town in the Alps

for more sonnetry:

--

--

Joe Váradi 🇭🇺
No Crime in Rhymin’

Editor of No Crime in Rhymin' | Award-Winning Translator | ..."come for the sarcasm, stay for my soft side"