Be My Baby (Next Week)

A Valentine’s Day parody of The Ronettes classic (with bonus verse!)

Drake Scott
No Crime in Rhymin’
2 min readFeb 12, 2023

--

Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

I highly recommend you sing the following lyrics to the tune of Be My Baby by the Ronettes. Imagine that sparse 50s rock beat with strings and a tambourine. I’ll get you started.

[Boom…ba-boom chink
Boom…ba-boom chink]

The night we met I knew I needed you so
I only wish that it wasn’t a week ago
So won’t you say you love me?
But not just yet, ’cause you see
Valentine’s Day is pricy. I don’t have the dough

ㅤㅤSo won’t you, please (not till the fifteenth)
ㅤㅤBe my little baby? (fifteenth or sixteenth)
ㅤㅤSay you’ll be my darlin’ (not till the fifteenth)
ㅤㅤBe my baby to…(fifteenth or sixteenth)
ㅤㅤmorrow-oh-oh-oh

I’ll make you happy, baby, just wait and see
Chocolates will be on sale, I’ll buy forty three
Oh, since the day I saw you
I knew I could not afford you
Ill give you anything as long as it is free

ㅤㅤSo won’t you, please (not till the fifteenth)
ㅤㅤBe my little baby? (fifteenth or sixteenth)
ㅤㅤSay you’ll be my darlin’ (not till the fifteenth)
ㅤㅤBe my baby to…(fifteenth or sixteenth)
ㅤㅤmorrow-oh-oh-oh

My love for you is swelling, you are my bae
But so’s the price of food, babe. I just can’t pay
I want to buy a greeting card
There’s not ten bucks on my bank card
Oh, my direct deposit comes in next Friday

ㅤㅤSo won’t you, please? (not till the fifteenth)
ㅤㅤBe my little baby (fifteenth or sixteenth)
ㅤㅤTomorrow-oh-oh (not till the fifteenth)
ㅤㅤWhoa-oh-oh-oh (fifteenth or sixteenth)
ㅤㅤTomorrow-oh-oh (not till the fifteenth)
ㅤㅤOh (fifteenth or sixteenth)

--

--

Drake Scott
No Crime in Rhymin’

Humor writer (and creator of lots of other artsy fartsy stuff) Follow me if you like poetry, humor or if you like to think a little sideways sometimes.