Coffee, Maker

…and grounds for divorce.

Mary L. Holden
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

Thank you Annie Spratt and Unsplash for allowing use of this photo.

Mr. Coffee,
we’ve been married
for years. Why then
now am I in

tears? Your bladder
broke and wet the
counter. I wiped
the liquid and

planned your ouster.
With some remorse
I faced the fact
of this divorce

and took up ground
with Monsieur French
Press. Will he give
dry faithfulness?

NOTE: As the song goes, love for coffee, love for tea creates the java jive for he and me. But brokenness in the mornings…what with the news being like it’s been lately…just cannot be tolerated. We won’t be moving to Paris any time soon, but there has been a move to holier grounds via the ‘handy,’ messy, and yet more observational and science-y (“How Heat Changes Foods”*) French press.

*The title of a science fair project for which one of my contemporaries won an ‘honorable mention’ award ribbon in 1969 during our grade school years. In my mind, I gave that project a citizens’ first-place ribbon and wished I’d-a thought of that idea! Heat does change foods…and…our very beings. Now that’s a winner of a project in the Science Fair of Life. Go espresso yourself!

--

--

Mary L. Holden
No Crime in Rhymin’

A constantly evaporating editor and writer. Believer in medium since 2013 when they made me wait for an invitation….