Confession (Vallomás)

a ribaldly romantic verse translation

Joe Váradi 🇭🇺
No Crime in Rhymin’
2 min readMay 9, 2021

--

artist: Paul Gustav Fischer / with creative editing

a poem by Jenő Heltai, translated by Joe Váradi

Confession

We have a lack of understanding,
This I regret greatly, madam,
But if you shalln’t be my lover
All else I just cannot fathom.

For example, as your grace implores
with passioned fervor to no end,
That I rush to the aid of your poor,
Tormented heart, be your best friend.

Best friend! I dare say, quite an honor
To attain such a lofty rung,
But I am not so past my prime,
and you, still alarmingly young.

You, so full of life, so redolent,
Flaming, rousing, blinding, pearly,
How could I not covet your kisses,
Me, who am no angel, surely?

What I desire is so little …
Why hesitate to spare a slice,
Another may have your blessed soul,
With your body I shall suffice.

--

--

Joe Váradi 🇭🇺
No Crime in Rhymin’

Editor of No Crime in Rhymin' | Award-Winning Translator | ..."come for the sarcasm, stay for my soft side"