Confessions of an American Anglophile

(Who’s been a fan for quite a while)

Speaking Fiction To Power
No Crime in Rhymin’

--

Photo by simon frederick on Unsplash (I do not salute you, Union Jack, but hope your humor never to lack.)

I am a fan of British humor,
So I am particularly inclined,
To turn first to Britbox,
To see what I might find.

Britbox is a viewing service,
For which I pay a fee,
They’ve got so many good things to watch,
It’s “Bob’s Your Uncle” for me.

One of the first shows I discovered
Was “Mrs. Brown’s Boys”,
Though I see in the British press
It’s not one of their joys.

It could be that it’s often blue,
Leading some to be inclined
To think it should be censored,
So they’d just as soon decline.

Another treasure is “Ripping Yarns”,
Staring T Jones and M Palin.
Both of “Monty Python” fame,
Where I think they first set sail in.

--

--

Speaking Fiction To Power
No Crime in Rhymin’

I am an old man who loves to write - to entertain, to produce a chuckle, and occasionally make a point I think is worth making - and sometimes all three!